2013 Year in Reading

The older I get, the more I feel my reading life is fading away.  I was born to read.  Reading has shaped and defined my existence.  So it’s scary to think that I’m running out of reading time.  Even if I live another 20 years, that’s only 1,040 books at this year’s pace.  That seems like a lot, but it’s a finite number.  Picture an hour-glass, but instead of grains of sand, imagine tiny little books falling through the narrow waist of the time.

confessions-of-a-crap-artist-5

I retired this year on October 22nd, and assumed I’d start reading books like crazy.  When I worked, I read about one book a week.  I hoped after retiring, to read two books a week – instead it’s one book every two weeks.  Damn.  That’s not what I planned at all!  I’ve only been able to catch up to my yearly average by quickly finishing off several half-read books.

As 2013 closes out, I contemplate the power of less, both having less time, but also wanting and owning less, so I can focus clearly on my goals, and I realize I need to change my attitude toward reading.  More than ever, I want to make every book count.  This might sound contradictory, but I’m thinking I need to read less too.  Instead of consuming books in great numbers, I should savor and study them.  But what if that means I have 300 books left?

In 2012 I read 49 books and I wrote in my 2012 Year in Reading that I wanted to read 12 novels, 12 science books, 12 history/other non-fiction books in 2013, and hopefully 12 of those would be published during 2013.  Well, I didn’t do so good, especially with science books – I didn’t read any science books at all!   I did read one math book.  Plus, I only read just seven 2013 books (I did read eleven 2012 books, so I’m close).  I read 24 fiction books, twice what I wanted.

When I look at the list below I realize that some books were definitely worth my reading time, but others, even ones I really enjoyed, weren’t.  I’ll rate the books I felt added much to my life with up to 5 pluses (+), but any book I didn’t rate means I could have skipped without impact.  Some of these were lots of fun, but I need more than just fun.

Books Read in 2013

Favorite Fiction

  1. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
  2. The Short Stories Volume 1 by Ernest Hemingway
  3. Confessions of a Crap Artist by Philip K. Dick
  4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  5. The Long Tomorrow  by Leigh Brackett

Favorite Nonfiction

  1. Half-the-Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn
  2. The World Until Yesterday by Jared Diamond
  3. The Unwinding by George Packer
  4. The Voice is All by Joyce Johnson
  5. Other Powers: The Age of Suffrage, Spiritualism, and the Scandalous Victoria Woodhull by Barbara Goldsmith

Order of Reading

  1. Confessions of a Crap Artist (1959) – Philip K. Dick (+++++)
  2. Half-the-Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide (2009) – Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (+++++)
  3. Beautiful Ruins (2012) – Jess Walters (+++)
  4. The World Until Yesterday (2012) – Jared Diamond (+++++)
  5. At Home (2010) – Bill Bryson (+++)
  6. Redshirts (2012) – John Scalzi 
  7. The Wrecking Crew (2012) – Kent Hartman (+++)
  8. The Sheltering Sky  (1949) – Paul Bowles (+++)
  9. Hull Zero Three (2010) – Greg Bear
  10. Wishin’ and Hopin’(2009) – Wally Lamb
  11. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking (2012) – Susan Cain (++++)
  12. Other Powers: The Age of Suffrage, Spiritualism, and the Scandalous Victoria Woodhull (1999) – Barbara Goldsmith (++++)
  13. The Searchers (2013) – Glenn Frankel (+++)
  14. Heaven is for Real (2010) – Todd Burpo
  15. Darwinia (1999) – Robert Charles Wilson
  16. Society’s Child (2008) – Janis Ian
  17. We Can Build You (1972) – Philip K. Dick
  18. Oz Reimagined (2013) – edited by John Joseph Adams
  19. Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us (2009) – Daniel Pink (+)
  20. Word Freak: Heartbreak, Triump, Genius and Obsession in the World of Competitive SCRABBLE Players (2001) – Stefan Fatsis (++)
  21. The End of the Affair (1951) – Graham Greene (++)
  22. Mrs. Dalloway (1925) – Virginia Woolf (+)
  23. The Fault in Our Stars (2012) – John Green (++++)
  24. The Sense of an Ending (2011) – Julian Barnes (++)
  25. Why Are You Atheists So Angry: 99 Things That Piss Off the Godless (2012) – Greta Christina
  26. The Next 100 Years:  A Forecast for the 21st Century (2009) – George Friedman
  27. The Heart of Darkness (1899) – Joseph Conrad (+)
  28. Life As We Knew It (2006) – Susan Beth Pfeffer (+)
  29. The Ballad of Bob Dylan (2011) – Daniel Mark Epstein (+++)
  30. 2312 (2012) – Kim Stanley Robinson
  31. The Cuckoo’s Calling (2013) – Robert Galbraith (J. K. Rowling)
  32. Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls (2013) – David Sedaris
  33. Door Wide Open (2001) – Joyce Johnson
  34. The Unwinding – (2013) George Packer (+++++)
  35. The Year’s Top-Ten Tales of Science Fiction 5 (2013) – edited by Allan Kaster
  36. Euclid’s Window (2001) – Leonard Mlodinow (++)
  37. The World Jones Made (1956) – Philip K.  Dick
  38. The Long Tomorrow (1955) – Leigh Brackett (++)
  39. Lightspeed Year One (2011) – edited by John Joseph Adams
  40. One and Only (2011) – Gerald Nicosia and Anne Marie Santos
  41. Po-boy Contraband (2012) – Patrice Melnick
  42. The Voice is All: The Lonely Victory of Jack Kerouac (2012) – by Joyce Johnson (++++)
  43. The Year of Magical Thinking (2005) – Joan Didion (++++)
  44. Boys Adrift (2005) – Dr. Leonard Sax (++++)
  45. One Summer: America 1927 (2013) – Bill Bryson (++++)
  46. The Power of Less (2008) – Leo Babauta (+)
  47. Wheat Belly (2011) – William Davis MD (+++)
  48. The Short Stories Volume 1 (2002) – Ernest Hemingway (+++++)
  49. Distrust That Particular Flavor (2012) – William Gibson (++)
  50. Pulphead (2011) – John Jeremiah Sullivan (+++)
  51. Leviathan Wakes (2011) – James S. A. Corey
  52. Nineteen Eighty-Four (1949) – George Orwell (+++++)

Reading Plans for 2014

Once again I want to read less science fiction and more science, fewer fiction titles and more nonfiction.  Of course I’d like to read all +++++ books, even if I only read half as many books total.  I find it tragic that I forget what I read so quickly.  What a crying shame it is to take in so many fascinating facts that flee my mind in just minutes and hours.  Shouldn’t I be doing more rereading than reading, studying, rather than rushing by all those scenic words?

Going through my bulging bookcases, here’s what I’m pulling down to pile beside my reading chair, hoping to read in 2014.

  • On Looking: Eleven Walks with Expert Eyes (2013) – Alexandra Horowitz
  • Grain Brain (2013) – David Perlmutter, MD
  • Time Reborn (2013) – Lee Smolin
  • The Goldfinch (2013) – Donna Tartt
  • Thinking, Fast and Slow (2011) – Daniel Kahneman
  • The Beginning of Infinity (2011) – David Deutsch
  • Darwin’s Armada (2009) – Iain McCalman
  • The Best Writing on Mathematics (2013) – Mircea Pitici, Editor
  • The Fallacy of Fine-Tuning: Why the Universe is Not Designed for Us (2011) – Victor J. Stenger
  • Waging Heavy Peace (2012) – Neil Young
  • Your Inner Fish by Neil Shubin
  • Mathematics: The Loss of Certainty by Morris Kline
  • Touching the Rock: An Experience of Blindness by John M. Hull
  • The Social Conquest of Earth by Edward O. Wilson
  • Darwin’s Dangerous Idea: Evolution and the Meaning of Life by Daniel C. Dennett
  • Euclid in the Rainforest: Discovering Universal Truth in Logic and Mathematics by Joseph Mazur

JWH – 12/27/13

6 Responses

  1. I’m struck by your list of books you plan to read and how they overlap with my reading list. So, I know we have very common taste in books (I did read “Confessions of a Crap Artist” because of you and loved it).

    Clearly, one of my most influential books I have ever read is “Mathematics the lost of certainty”. It’s a difficult book to read, but because of it, I cringe when someone says a statement like “absolute truth exist because we know 2+2=4″.

    My favorite book I read this year is “Darwin’s Dangerous Idea”. It’s more of a philosophy book than a science book. There is a really god chapter in the book on Godol’s incompleteness theorem (and how Penrose just gets it wrong), that will relate back to the Kline book. But, you once wrote that you first needed to understand the science before you can read the philosophy, and if you haven’t read Origin of Species and “the selfish Gene” I wouldn’t recommend this book.

    My favorite science book I read this year was Smolin’s “Time Reborn”. It too hovers around the edges of philosophy but has a world view nicely explained. Beyond Infinity is one of the best books on science/philosophy I have ever read. Holt’s “why does the world exist”, is a good book (but philosophy) interviews Deutsche and tries to make him look stupid, but doesn’t succeed.

    I’m tempted to try “why are atheist are so angry”, you didn’t rate it. BTW, the best by far book on that topic is Jerry Dewitt’s “hope after faith”. It is a great audible book read by the author.

    The Kahneman and Wilson book’s are most read because a lot of other author’s steal from them. I enjoyed both.

    • I’m listening to The Beginning of Infinity by David Deutsch and it’s very philosophical too, but about science. Deutsch works very hard to be very precise in describing what science is, and thus has to reference a lot of philosophical terms and history. I have dipped into Mathematics: The Loss of Certainty and look forward to reading. Have you read The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb? I’m also anxious to read Time Reborn. Darwin’s Dangerous Idea has been on my shelf a long time, along with many other books with Darwin in the title. I hope to finally get to it this year, especially after your glowing recommendation. I have read The Selfish Gene, but it’s been years and years. I recently got an audio edition, along with an audio edition of Origin of Species – so I guess I’ll need to add them to my list!!!

      • I read the Black Swan this year and loved it. It made me see the world entirely different. That makes for a good book, one that makes me change my world view. I force myself to write a review after every book I listen to on audible. My other books I have listened to and reviewed are in this list, http://www.audible.com/listener/A64D68L1URG6R?ref_=a_hp_mst_tnaft_5

      • Greg, you should do a blog. I really like your reviews at Audible, and thanks for the plug in the review of Replay. Maybe I should start doing reviews at Audible. Of the books you reviewed that I haven’t read and would like to read soon are:

        • Thinking in Numbers
        • Time Reborn
        • Why Does the World Exist
        • The Bonobo and the Atheist
        • How to Create a Mind
        • Trouble with Physics
        • Seizing the Enigma
        • DNA
        • First Life
        • The Universe Within
        • A Tear at the Edge of Creation
        • The Eerie Silence
        • Gravity’s Engines
        • The Infinity Puzzle
        • Dance of Photons
        • The 4% Universe
  2. So have you defined why you need more nonfiction than fiction….I mean with time running out…

    • Good question Sutton. Fiction is fun, and a comfortable way to escape, but nonfiction takes work, and ultimately is more rewarding because it makes me appreciate reality. I love both. As I get older, and my body fails, fiction is soothing. But also, as I get older, I become more philosophical, and nonfiction fuels my sense of wonder about existence while I wait for nonexistence.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,186 other followers

